7 weeks

How has it been 7 weeks already? And also, it feels sometimes like it has been 16 weeks.

Emmett – 7 weeks

Emmett is doing great. He is a tiny little fella. Weighing in at 8lbs14oz at his 6 week check up (which was actually at 7 wks) which puts him in the 3rd percentile for weight. He’s in the 11th for height. I am OK with this. He was tiny when we brought him home, and he is growing – that is all that matters. (I have some family who only believe that the 99th percentile is OK. Screw them.) He is alert, he smiles, he sleeps, he eats, he holds his little head up to look at his surroundings, he responds to my voice, he’s doing all the things he is supposed to be doing at this point.
Oliver 2.5 yrs

Oliver is still a little jealous from time to time. But, we are managing it. It is getting easier, the less I am tethered to the baby. To be honest, I was not prepared for the level of jealousy that we experienced with him. He loves the baby, but when he wants our attention, he definitely lets us know. Oliver is doing great otherwise. He loves his little school, he is learning new words and terms every single day. We are amazed. Often saying “where did he hear that word!” He has a little girlfriend at school. They kiss and hold hands. I die. I can’t believe we are planning his 3rd birthday.
Me

I have healed up well enough I suppose. Of course, there is a c-section scar, but it healed normally. I lost 20lbs in the 1st few weeks. Now to lose the remaining 10 gained during pregnancy, then I’ll begin to work on all the weight I gained in these years muddling through fertility treatments. (Probably around 40-50 over the course of 10 years) I was unable to continue breastfeeding past 3 weeks. But, I have not yet had my 1st period. I dread it. The 1st period after Oliver was AWFUL. The worst of my entire life. Like, debilitating. I had to call my husband home from work, awful. I feel slightly crampy, like it may start soon, although I was 5 months pp with O. So, we’ll see. Despite not breastfeeding, my boobs are in a very unattractive state. I have big ones naturally. Before weight gain, IF treatments, babies, etc., I was a solid Ccup. Currently a DD. But they have found a new place to sit. Or rather, droop. Does this get better? Looking forward, I will eventually have a reduction and a lift, but this current level of droopiness just seems excessive. Maybe they have to bounce back after BFing? Maybe this is their new home? Sigh. I am exhausted. Emmett is eating every 2 hours around the clock. I have not had any solid sleep since before his birth. It is taking its toll on me. And probably on my weight loss journey. It is causing me to be very angry at my husband. Which brings me to sex.
Sex.

Sigh again. I think I’ll just dedicate an entire post to this later. 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “7 weeks

  1. Um, if all babies were in the 99th percentile, it wouldn’t be the 99th percentile. DUH! Your family is silly!
    Y’all look gorgeous, and I hope things get easier soon! xo

  2. aaaaahhhh post partum sex. Man oh man, that is pandora’s box that one! ha! I’m terrified of getting knocked up which seems so ridiculous after trying so hard to be exactly that.

    You all look adorable and well and glad to hear things are going along nicely. 🙂 xx

Leave a comment